RECAP: June 2019 Member Meeting

The Utah Watercolor Society wrapped up our 2018-2019 Member Year with the annual business meeting and social on Tuesday, June 4, 2019.

Julie Ickes_head shot with label

We wish to give a huge THANK YOU to our 2018-2019 President, Julie Ickes, who brought great thoughtfulness and heart to the organization through her leadership. A big THANK YOU also to the UWS Board who served with Julie during the year to bring our organization excellent activities including the 2018 Small Works Exhibition; the Fall 2018 Member Exhibition; the Spring 2019 Open Exhibition; entry opportunity for the annual Western Federation of Watercolor Societies Exhibition; Mini Workshops with amazing local artists Carl Purcell, Brian Thayne, Bruce Robertson & Shelley Young, and Roland Lee; a full week workshop with visiting artist/instructor and Fall Exhibition juror/judge, Frank Eber; and another full week workshop with with visiting artist/instructor and Fall Exhibition juror/judge, Betsy Dillard Stroud. Board members also arranged monthly Paint Out opportunities; coordinated our annual high school Scholarship drive and awards; monthly Member Meetings; annual Membership Drive and Directory; monthly Illustrated Journaling group; and all of the behind-the-scenes operations of the organization. It is thanks to the efforts of so many people who are willing to help that we are able to bring such great opportunities and activities to our UWS members!

With the June business meeting, we also had the opportunity to vote for the 2019-2020 Executive Officers and Board.  We wish to extend a big CONGRATULATIONS to incoming President, Linda Flannery and her new Board for 2019-2020! We look forward to another great year!

Linda Flannery_head shot_web_with label

Have a great summer, and KEEP PAINTING!

The Cache Valley Chapter Summer Exhibition is coming in July, and our UWS 2020 Fall Member Exhibition prospectus will be coming soon!


UWS 2019-2020 Board
President: Linda Flannery
Vice President / President Elect: Emily Thomas
Past President: Julie Ickes
Recording Secretary: Julie Hopkins
Communications/Webmaster: Jennifer Love
Bookkeeper: Cindy Hepworth
Membership Chair: Dewey Hansen
Exhibition Chair/Committee: volunteers needed
  • 2019 Fall Show Coordinator: Aaron Wolcott (committee needed)
  • 2020 Spring Exhibition Coordinator: Julie Hopkins (committee needed)
  • Helpers for Fall & Spring Exhibitions: volunteers needed
2019 Small Works Exhibition Chair: Bessann Swanson
Signature/Two Star Chair: Roxanne Pfister
Mini-Workshops Chairs: Kay Hale, Chariya Ernst
Education Chair: Günther Haidenthaller
Scholarship Chair: Tamara Trotter
Paint Outs Co-Chairs: Neena Plant-Henninger, Stephanie Carter-Nielsen
Archives: Kelly Holtman
Hospitality Committee: Maggie Harrison, Blaine Clayton
Arts and the Park Chair: Maura Naughton
WFWS Delegate: Jennifer Love
WFWS Alternate Delegate: Julie Ickes

Contact Linda Flannery ( if you are interested in helping with Fall and/or Spring exhibitions.

Many hands make light work!

achievement blur charity collaboration
Photo by on


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.